The original plan was that after Newton Faulkner, I’d save my money for a while and wait for Bastille to come around, the day after my 20th birthday…
… that plan didn’t stick for long. Last weekend whilst I was wading through a mountain of work, I turned to my music hunting ground, The Hyve YouTube, to keep me motivated. An hour mixtape of dreamy indie pop, perfect. I realised Get Inuit had a track featured on there, and realisation struck me that I’d seen that they were playing in Lincoln the very next day – I couldn’t resist the opportunity to see them so local, so I persuaded a friend to come along and with 24 hours to spare we bought our tickets!

Lincoln’s Engine Shed, unbeknownst to most, actually comprises of two separate stages; there’s the 1500 capacity Engine Shed itself which is practically one spacious room with a stage at the back, and upstairs is The Platform – a room tucked away on the second floor, holding a 350 standing capacity at most. Although I’d only been to the Platform once before, the venue had stuck out as one of my favourites because of how intimate it is, and how up and close you can get and connect with the bands due to its intimacy.

The Supports

The Engine Shed certainly have made a habit of introducing local talent to concert revellers – Newton Faulkner brought along Lauren Rycroft, and Get Inuit continued the tradition by bringing out two Lincolnshire local groups!

Horncastle is a town near mine which in my opinion appeals only if you’ve got an extensive love for antiques shops (sorry any Horncastle loyal locals) – the one factor in its favour is that the first support act The HiLos are from there! The first striking feature about the band was the calibre of their sound; apart from a few minor issues linked to tuning guitars, their sound quality was faultless – there wasn’t one instrument refusing to cooperate nor the common problem of instruments drowning out vocals, everything complimented each other! The songs themselves were effortlessly catchy, with a floaty summery feel. Their whole set was just really fun! They played a selection of songs from their first EP, as well as upcoming numbers from the second, so it’s clear they’re a group constantly working hard.
Following the HiLos were the Vigilantes, another four piece and local group, this time originating from Boston. Boston Fun Fact 1: It’s the murder capital of the UK. Boston Fun Fact 2: It was the place in the UK which voted strongest for Brexit. You get the picture. Thankfully The Vigilantes are a glimmer of hope rising out of Boston. In a similar vain to the HiLos, they performed lively groovy indie pop numbers, mixed with softer mellower moments in their slower songs on the set list. Like chocolate melting in your mouth, the Vigilantes produced a sweet and delightful sound, and no one was lacking in enthusiasm! Their songs could be the new emerging indie generation’s anthems – lyrics such as ‘I don’t care, I’ve got no money again, let the good times roll’ tells the story of every university student, living university life up partying and clubbing despite the slightly frightening reality that only £1.50 exists in their bank account. The lads manifested their jack-the-lad bold personalities off by cheekingly pointing out that ‘their merchindise tops in the corner will help you keep warm tonight…so buy one!’; I am confident that they had no qualms selling tops for the remainder of the night.


Quality of Vocals

From the songs I’d previously heard before the concert, I knew lead vocalist Jamie Glass was certainly capable of hitting the high notes. Without any sign of difficulty, he breezed through the band’s songs reaching all the notes with no hesitation. Part of the joy of listening to indie pop are the higher notes – they add euphoria to songs and I felt just as euphoric and joyous listening to Get Inuit’s music live as I did the first time I’d unearthed them. In addition to reaching the vocals, Jamie sang them with clarity and I could hear all the lyrics with sharpness.


Instruments and Energy of the Set

There was barely a pause for a breather – Get Inuit rocketed through their set and I was surprised how quick time flew by, when they announced they had reached the finale point of their show! This was in no way a negative – sublime hurtling and wizzing playing ensured that the show was carried along with sheer intensity, energising every moment of their performance. Each band member contributed to instruments as Jamie also plays the guitar alongside the second Jamie in the band Jamie Simpson, Rob Simpson mans the drums and finally Oliver Nunn is on the bass. Get Inuit is a family affair as well, with Jamie and Rob being brothers! The choice for all members to play instruments live worked as the music blended with each other and there wasn’t the competitive element that can accidentally emerge in concerts, a game where members try to outplay each other. Not with Get Inuit – the instruments all balanced one another flawlessly and faultlessly.

Interaction with the Crowd

As mentioned above, in the blink of an eye Get Inuit’s set had flown by due to its sheer pace, but in the snippets of the show when their playing temporarily ceased, the band were more than pleased to make conversation with the crowd. It wasn’t just your typical cliche questions either; Get Inuit asked how many of the crowd were university students for instance, and the littlest questions like that made me feel like I wasn’t just a number in the crowd, but more like an acquaintance of theirs. Did the band leave the stage at the first possible chance once they were finished for the night? Of course not: seconds after the last clash of drums and strumming of guitar, they hurried to the signing desk, and I think the lads would have happily stayed there all night conversing with fans, if not for the security guards who understandably wanted us to leave the premises at some point that night! Get Inuit expressed their humbleness by confessing that they ‘didn’t really expect fans at their show’ that night, making the band members as likeable off the stage as they were on it.

The Set Itself

As Get Inuit are still up and coming, their hits have mainly been confined to the territory of the indie underground circuit, but they played numbers which had been featured (and gone down a storm with unanimous acclaim from listeners!) on The Hyve – I am the Hot Air, Mean Heart and their latest release Teriyaki. I knew all their biggest songs, as did the majorty of the crowd as about a dozen or so people had previously seen them live. They also performed songs from their 001 7″ vinyl release last year and this was available to purchase directly from the band after the concert. I would have loved the set to have been stretched for an extra ten minutes, but they would have had to comprise on the amount of time talking to us fans, at the end of the day I prefer the latter over more songs being performed!

All in all, for a concert that I barely knew I was even going to, I was astounded, even flabber-gasted by all three bands, and how appreciative and blown away they were by the amount of fans that showed up to the gig (there was only around fifty in all). If The HiLos, The Vigilantes, and Get Inuit venture to my neck of the woods again, I certainly would hope and expect more fans to show up. They put on a brillant show, and made Mondays not that bad after all.

Just as a side note, I’ve decided to stop doing the ratings out of five in each section for the headliner act, because I didn’t think they were particularly important – I say what I honestly believe is good and bad about a performance in each section, and the rating just doesn’t really add much else. Unless you readers did really like the ratings – if so let me know, and I’ll put them back into the next live review. If you aren’t bothered about the ratings like I am, you can let me know but if no one comments angrily that they cannot understand why they’ve disappeared, I’ll leave them out 🙂

