The summer just past, and planning to head back…

When I walked out of the exam room for the last time this May, I eagerly awaited the summer weeks ahead of me, and admittedly was glad university was over for the year. Now days before I go back, although I’ve had the best summer of my life, I cannot wait to start my university journey for the second time.πŸ˜ŒπŸŽ“

Summer was very different from how I’d pictured it would run its course; plans with my boyfriend were dashed after a sudden break up, and suddenly the season I had longed for filled me with dread. Some events in life must happen for a reason as the break up actually led me to go to places and try activities I never thought I’d do!

This summer past I’ve spent a substantial amount of time with my family; from them I’ve inherited a travelling bug and visited many places in the UK – highlights were climbing mountains and watching a sunrise in The Lake District for my brother’s birthday celebrations, and a brief but glorious trip to Cambridge!


I also saw my friends loads, and the time I had meant I could see both my new university friends, and old and loyal secondary school chums, with the time spent with each one of them wonderful and treasured. One of the best days was a trip to Meadowhall – my friend and I saw ‘Me Before You’; for those of you who avoid the world of corny girlie rom coms it’s a particularly emotional film and we both walked out the cinema with red eyes from all the crying!πŸ˜‚

Summer wasn’t all about relaxing – I hate not being productive even for one day! I volunteered at Oxfam one day, and it made me appreciate all the graft and effort their volunteers put in, which I’d taken for granted before. I carried on with two of my jobs – teaching primary school kids maths and working at open days, both which are rewarding and eye-opening! Open days were not the only time I spent at university this summer; Summer Scientist Week involved carrying out research with children in the form of games, and I was lucky enough to be given my own study to run. Although the hours were long and stressful, I gained numerous skills I can add to my CV for life.πŸ‘πŸ»

At first I thought summer would drag, but I genuinely have loved the past three months. The breakup may have felt like the end of the world, but I’ve learnt that when one door closes, a whole new door and world will be opened up to you to make the most of. I feel that this summer has drawn to a close, and it’s definitely the right time to return to Lincoln to study! With commuting, whilst most students I know have been preparing packing and moving into new accommodation, I’ve been planning which friends I can sneak a bed at for the night, so I can enjoy some of Freshers! Lincoln has an amazing lineup and luckily my chums are up for quizzing and a few club nights, as well as making the most of the free goods at the Freshers’ Fayre, so I won’t miss out on it at all. No packing delights me as well.πŸ˜‰

Oh and I met Jeremy Corbyn, my political hero. That was pretty cool, and yes I was star struck!πŸ˜‚


My summer is concluding in the best way possible; on the 17th I am watching one of my favourite bands Slaves at a tiny 200 capacity venue in Scunthorpe – intimate gigs are the best and I have full respect to Slaves for not leaving their roots and partaking on their small venue tour! 

Pictures and a full review for Slaves and their supports at Cafe Indiependent, Scunthorpe will be published shortly after the concert.

Leave a Reply

